UPS Shareowners Elect Board, Reappoint Deloitte & Touche

UPS1251Shareowners of UPS (NYSE: UPS) today elected a Board of Directors for a one-year term and ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the company’s independent registered public accountants.

On other matters, a majority of shareowners voted to approve the 2012 Omnibus Incentive Compensation Plan, which authorizes the issuance of equity compensation to UPS employees and directors, and to increase the number of shares available under the Discounted Employee Stock Purchase Plan, which encourages employee ownership by offering UPS stock at a 5% discount.

The shareholders also rejected a shareowner proposal that would have required the preparation of an annual report on the company’s government affairs and lobbying activities. The Board, which exercises independent oversight of all UPS lobbying and political contributions and expenditures, had recommended a “No” vote on the grounds that UPS already has effective policies for the appropriate disclosure and oversight of the company’s lobbying and political activities.

Twelve directors stood for election to the Board of Directors and all were elected by substantial margins. The 12 include Chairman Scott Davis; Duane Ackerman; Michael Burns; Stuart Eizenstat; Mike Eskew; Bill Johnson; Candace Kendle; Ann Livermore; Rudy Markham; Clark “Sandy” Randt; John Thompson, and Carol Tome.

The appointment of Deloitte & Touche to serve as the company’s independent auditors for 2012 also was ratified by a wide margin.

Listen to the Podcast:

Contributing Sponsors:

Getac International Sponsor of LogisticsMatter

Featured Event:

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This